Grandma’s Triple Top-Secret Potato Salad – Revealed!

31 Dec

People are passionate about their potato salad. Everybody claims they have the “best” recipe – either their own, or their mom’s, or their grandma’s, or what have you. Individual potato salads are subject to strict critique by the consumers. They might say outright, “This is good, but it’s not as good as such-and-so’s,” or they admit, “This is the best darned potato salad I ever did eat!” Or they internally scrutinize and judge and analyze just what might that secret ingredient be that they detect.

ingredients

If you make a good one, you know it because it’s requested for every family dinner and every potluck, and it disappears quickly. If you make a bad one, you know it because you have leftovers when the day is done.

chopped

My childhood summers featured this dish very prominantly. My grandmother would make a batch just about every week, and I have to tell you (get ready), it IS the best recipe and IS the best potato salad you’re ever going to eat. And it took me a long time to perfect it. You see, this recipe had no measurements. Just a list of ingredients whose amounts you would add and adjust and taste and assess throughout the process of making the potato salad. I don’t know how Grandma made it EXACTLY the same every time, but she did.

whisked

I made a batch tonight, and as I went along I tried to note just how much of each ingredient I used. I probably don’t have it exactly right here, but I’m taking a shot at it. Your experience and preference may vary, so feel free to adjust the amounts toward your preference. Like a “yellower” potato salad? Add more mustard! Like it a little dryer? Add less mayo! Like it a bit more tangy? Add more vinegar!

You catch my drift. Okay, here goes!

potatosalad

Grandma’s Triple Top-Secret Potato Salad – Revealed!

Ingredients:

– 5 lbs yellow or golden potatoes
– 4 stalks celery
– 1/2 of a medium sweet onion
– 5 eggs
– 2/3 of a 32 oz jar of mayo… what is that, about 21 oz? Almost three cups? Let’s just say three cups – we like our potato salad “wet”. (Yes dears, that’s what I said… THREE CUPS OF MAYO. What, you didn’t come here for HEALTHY food, did you?)
– 1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil
– 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
– 3 heaping tbsp sweet pickle relish
– 3 heaping tbsp yellow mustard
– 2 tbsp sugar
– 1 tbsp onion powder
– salt and pepper to taste (the potatoes absorb the salt, so don’t be shy with it!)

Peel all the potatoes, cut them in half, and place in a large pot. Cover with water about 2″ above the potatoes, splash in a bit of vegetable oil, and throw in a couple of tablespoons of salt. Boil until fork-tender but not falling apart, about 20 minutes depending on the size of the potatoes. Drain and allow to cool.

While the potatoes are boiling, hard-boil the eggs (I keep them at a rolling boil for fifteen minutes). Drain and allow to cool.

While you’re waiting for the potatoes and eggs to cool, chop the celery and the onion and place them in a very large bowl. In a medium bowl, whisk together the mayo, oil, vinegar, relish, mustard, sugar, onion powder, salt and pepper.

When the potatoes and eggs are cool, roughly chop them (about 3/4 inch pieces for the taters, smaller for the eggs), and add to the bowl with the celery and onion. Pour the dressing over the vegetables, and gently fold to incorporate without mushing up the potatoes. Pour from mixing bowl into a large serving dish. Cover and chill for at least 8 hours, or overnight. Makes at least 6-8 servings.

You will die of the taste sensation, I guar-an-tee.

12 Responses to “Grandma’s Triple Top-Secret Potato Salad – Revealed!”

  1. laughy888 December 31, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    You should try adding in some crushed Fritos. It’s reely good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dyskinesia January 1, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    Vinegar is KEY to the very best potato salad! Will have to try this too, even if I am the only one who will eat it. Always experimenting too, so on try #2, I may have to swap out a little mayo for a little sour cream. And maybe some pickle chunks. Can never have too much pickle ya know. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for this! (and to Grammy too!)

  3. Laura January 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    I’ve never tried it with sour cream, I might do that next time. And I always put in a few spoonfuls of sweet pickle relish, since I’m a pickle freak too. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. angelcel February 7, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    Hehe…my girls don’t like mayo while ‘mi amore’ and I love it. I very much like the sound of this… so I suppose that just means there will be all the more for us then!

  5. Samantha Mathews February 6, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Looks good. I saw this on a commerical the other day, so thanks for posting the recipe. I have a cooking recipe site as well and Iกฏd like to exchange links with you. Let me know if this is possible. Thanks.

  6. Ann July 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    I cannot thank you enough. I’m 52 and just made the best potato salad of my life. IT’S JUST FLAT DELICIOUS!!! I loved it so much I posted your link on my Facebook page. Awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Start your engines! « Snerkology - January 1, 2009

    […] Chicken Dip recipe (I’ll have to ask her if I can post that), and made my Grandmother’s Triple Top Secret Potato Salad. Then I wrote the entry over at WFN for said recipe (seriously – it’s a labor of love, but SO […]

  2. Srsly. « Snerkology - March 24, 2009

    […] as passionate about “their” version of a BM (heh) as they are about their recipe for potato salad. I don’t get the draw, myself. I’ve had one or two in my lifetime, and always think to […]

  3. Quiet. « Snerkology - May 31, 2009

    […] made potato salad in the morning, and that’s pretty much what I’ve been living off of for the past two […]

  4. In which there is prolific use of the caps lock. « Snerkology - January 17, 2010

    […] in the crock pot, then decided an hour of puttering in the kitchen was in order, and started making potato salad. Got the eggs boiling and was in the process of peeling a five pound bag of potatoes when Bill came […]

  5. Hot like wasabe when I bust rhymes « Snerkology - April 2, 2010

    […] also making Grandma’s Triple Top-Secret Potato Salad, and trying my hand at this recipe for carrot cake that PW recently […]

  6. Week three (with potential TMI. You have been warned.) « Snerkology - June 21, 2010

    […] meatloaf, did some laundry, layed (lied?) out in the sun, and watched Iron Man. Yesterday I made potato salad and brownies and t-bones, watched a couple of races, watched the series finale of The Tudors, the […]

Leave a Reply

